• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D (2024) Wrong thread location

Kenedeel

Villager
Meant to post this on another thread, but I didn't catch that it was in One D&D until too late. Please remove this post.

Last edited:

Epic Meepo

Adventurer
I agree with the title of this thread. The Thread Location rules in the latest playtest packet are clearly wrong. I don’t feel I’m being hyperbolic when I say the Thread Location rules are the worst design decision in the history of D&D. In fact, I’d even say they’re the worst design decision in the history of all games ever invented. I blame WotC, Crawford, and late-stage capitalism for this entire Thread Location debacle.

I’ve been playing D&D since three years before it was published. I’m not saying that to brag. I’m just saying it to explain where I’m coming from. And in all prior editions of D&D other than 4e, the DM was free to determine where Threads were located. Now, suddenly, WotC thinks we need fully fleshed-out rules for Thread Locations, like DMs aren’t able to make those decisions on their own. These new Thread Location mechanics reek of player entitlement.

If the playtest surveys weren’t a bunch of meaningless, non-scientific garbage, we’d have never gotten Thread Location mechanics in the first place. WotC keeps touting their arbitrary 70% satisfaction metric, as if numbers weren’t just tools corporate America invented to keep us from seeing the truth. The playtest methodology is flawed. I can't even offer explanations for my answers without choosing to type that information in the space provided. Total garbage.