• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Level Up (A5E) What am I missing?

TheOneGargoyle

Explorer
Hi,

I was super excited when I heard about an advanced, "crunchier" version of 5e, so I'm trying to get my head around what you're doing here and.... I'm confused.... and feel like I'm missing something fundamental.... So please forgive my questions in advance if they seem ill - informed.

First off, I should probably say I've been DM-ing for coming up to 40 yrs, since Red box days, through every edition. So I'm not a n00b when it comes to D&D. And through it all I've always been a "crunch over fluff" kind of guy. Don't get me wrong, I love the RP side of the game, but I'm keenly interested in the mechanics too. Hence why I thought Level Up! sounded so intriguing.

Ok, that said, I've downloaded a few of the play test docs, read some of the forum threads and, well, as I said above, I feel like I'm missing something obvious & fundamental.

So, questions :
* Is there some sort of introduction, overview, scene setting, big picture type of document that I can read that will put all these small bits & pieces into context? I'm feeling like I don't understand where any of the bits fit.
* Is there some sort of glossary or something that can tell me what some of these terms mean? I don't know what is meant by heritage, culture, archetypes, settler, beserker, pioneer?
* Is there some intention or plan about how different this is going to be from base 5e? I thought the idea was to have A5e be fully backwards compatible with 5e, so I don't understand why it seems like it's proposing to change all these mechanics & terminologies ?