• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Painting Minis...

Gee

First Post
I was recently given some older figurines by a friend to repaint.

The problem is that they were painted about 10 years ago with oodles of paint sort of globbed on and then varnished.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestins on how to remove this paint without damaging the figure?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Tsyr

Explorer
Uggg.

If they wern't varnished, it wouldn't be as bad...

You could I suppose try soaking them in turpentine for a day or so, but I don't know... I've never tried it before.

Gizzard

First Post
The classic technique for plastic models is to use oven cleaner. Spray the model, let the cleaner soften the paint for a minute, then wipe it off with an old toothbrush. You may have to do this a couple times if the original application is extra thick and/or gloopy. Oven cleaner is pretty caustic, so be careful.

I suspect this trick works on metals, but I've never tried it so I cant vouch. I also suspect it works on varnish, but cant vouch for that either. The models I cleaned were done in enamels. If yours are acrylics, I'd hope you can just wash them once you get through the varnish.

Torque

First Post
If that doesn't work, one of the techniques I've used is to soak them in Pine-sol overnight, and in the morning the paint comes off pretty easily.

KnowTheToe

First Post
Good Luck. I tried all of the above mentioned methods of removing paint off of miniatures and was unsatisfied with the results. They took off some paint, but not enough. Better to paint them quickly w/o too much detail. Spend time on newer figures.

D'karr

Adventurer
Removing Paint

I have used power brake fluid in the past and it works well on both metals and plastics.