• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Level Up (A5E) minor advantage/disadvantage

AllOlive

Villager
It's nice to have a more-granular form of advantage/disadvantage. But as a statistician, I think the "reroll if your first roll is too high/low" dynamic seems bad; the distribution has funny kinks in it, and it feels as if it "punishes/rewards" you for rolling too well/poorly the first time.

I've been thinking of easy-to-implement ideas that are "cleaner", and here's what I have:

Roll two d20 of different colors; a "main" and "auxiliary" one. If the auxiliary die shows 6-15, use the result from the main one. Otherwise, use disadvantage/advantage as normal (that is, for disadvantage, use the lower of the two, and for advantage, the higher of the two.)

Morrus

Well, that was fun
Staff member
That hasn’t been in the game for months! One of the very first things removed due to playtest feedback.

Faolyn

(she/her)
I think having a minor advantage die is a bit too much work for not enough gain. You have to remember what numbers to us (6-15 isn't really intuitive, even if it's "average", nor were the numbers used for the LU minor advantage playtest, of 5 or lower and 16 or higher) and the DM has to decide what exactly the divide is between minor and regular advantage.

The Expertise die that LU is going for now is a decent enough compromise. It be both a standard part of your character--instead of getting Expertise and doubling your prof bonus, you get the die--but it can also be given by an effect or DM fiat, and increased as well.

Faolyn

(she/her)
Ah, so instead of "minor advantage" it will be "add an expertise dice to your attack roll" ?