• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 1E Favorite 1E House Rule?

Chainsaw

Banned
Banned
Getting ready to start a 1E campaign, so I've been reading all the old AD&D materials. In fact, I just ordered a 1983 Greyhawk setting, KotBL and ToEE, which should all be arriving in the next week or so. I have some previous experience DM'ing 2E a long time ago, none with 1E and nothing at all recently. I have read through 3E, 3.5E and 4E, but haven't played much and wouldn't consider myself an expert on them.

I would love to hear about any favorite house rules that old or current 1E DM's or players have/had in their campaigns- combat, non-combat, anything at all. I love critical hits, for example, so we'll be adding those. I'm also considering some sort of 4Eish per encounter/daily "special move" option for my fighters, just to give the fighters a little more variety.

I'm NOT asking for anyone to spend hours typing out their entire house rule list, but if you've got a favorite, something that you and your players enjoy and that you think your 1E campaign just couldn't live without, I'd love to hear it.

Chainsaw

Banned
Banned
Thirty-three views and no replies.. Hmm.. I guess that means the system's flawless, eh? That's the *only* possible explanation, right?

Nimloth

First Post
Thirty-three views and no replies.. Hmm.. I guess that means the system's flawless, eh? That's the *only* possible explanation, right?
Or it could mean, few people still play 1e and that those who remember playing 1e don't recall what house rules they used.

I would say the 1st houserule for 1e that I would make would be to eliminate nonhuman level limits. Back when I played 1e (my goodness, has it been that long ago) they didn't bother me much. But now, looking back,they seem overly restrictive.

Chainsaw

Banned
Banned