• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Design Space - What are the biggest gaps in 4th Edition?

Incenjucar

Legend
As a would-be game designer, I spend a lot of time thinking about where the biggest design spaces are - whether player options, monsters, scenarios, alternative rules, or campaign styles. There are a lot of areas that have been only occasionally touched upon, and areas where further development would be beneficial, but I'm mostly interested in the big yawning gaps that aren't really on WotC's radar, but which aren't stuck in in-house limbo like elemental classes.

Some of the biggest design spaces, as might be expected, are in epic, especially with monsters. Non-fleshy rank-and-file elemental beings like archons all but cease to exist once you hit epic. Explicitly primal creatures are incredibly rare at all tiers. Non-evil aquatic races (merfolk, tritons, sirens, etc) simply don't exist. Epic fey creatures are narrow in scope - mostly just higher level versions of the same humanoid groups you fought in paragon. Non-undead shadow creatures are few and far between, and usually minions of the Raven Queen (though the exceptions are some of the most interesting things in the game).

What major open design spaces (and not just monsters) do you see in the game, particularly those that could be filled through the pages of Dungeon and Dragon?

Last edited:

Zaran

Adventurer